Wayland-Cohocton Cyclones Blow By Spencerport in Title Win


    Wayland-Cohocton 12 Spencerport 7

    The Wayland-Cyclones blew into Monroe County recently & swept away the 15-U MCBR crown by defeating Spencerport in the championship game by a convincing 12-7 score. Manager Eric Zastawrny’s club used a big 7-run second inning to blow the ballgame open , but would have to hold the line when Spencerport put a 5-spot on the board in the 6th. Wayland-Cohocton would fend off the late rally & hung on for a 12-7 victory to capture the title tilt !

    Way-Coh got going early by scoring twice in the first, & then batted around in the 2nd in the process of scoring 7 runs. Blake Zastawrny led the inning with a pair of singles in the same frame to help keep the wheels rollling as the Cyclones surged to a 9-0 lead. Spencerport chipped away with a couple in the the 5th, but Way-Coh equaled the feat by plating 2 of their own. The Monroe County club would make its big push when the scored a handful of times in the 6th making it 11-7. A Ben Wood triple and a single by Trevor Sly accounted for the Cyclones final run in their half of the 6th.

    Ethan Trischler would notch the win on the hill going 6 1/3 innings fanning 8 & walking 5. Jonathan Freberg finished up to hold off the Spencerport charge as the locals claimed the crown in the 12-7 win. At the plate Blake Zastawrny went 4-4…Ben Wood was 2-2 with a triple & walked twice….& Trevor Sly went 2-4 to lead to lead the Cyclones attack.

    Congratulations to Manager Eric Zastawrny & coaches Chad Dean, Jason Trischler and Steven Freberg. Members of the championship team included…J.J. Smith, Jonathan Freberg, Aydan Cotter, Ethan Trischler, Ben Wood, Cameron Huber, Trevor Sly, Blake Zastawrny, Kevin Ebert, Austin Mark, Ryan Ebert, Nikolai Zastawrny, Jamie Carmin, & DeAndre Green. Nice job Gents !!!