Canisteo-Greenwood Girls Squeak Past Wayland-Cohocton

Frank Williams —  Thursday, January 24, 2013

Canisteo-Greenwood 39 Wayland-COhocton 35

In non-league girls hoop action on Wednesday night (Jan. 23) Canisteo-Greenwood slipped past Wayland-Cohocton at “the Nest” by a slim 39-35 score. The visiting Redskins took a slim lead 11-8 through the opening 8 minutes of play. Wayland-Cohocton was trying to get some kind of chemistry working after losing the services of starters Megan Cheasman & Jade Harris to injuries. GOlden Eagles coach Dawn Burdick dug down into the unbeaten JV ranks to grab 7th grader Alex Button & Reilly Landino. The move kept the maroon & gold close throughout the contest. The Golden Eagles would find themselves down by 4 at the half. The red & white remained on the warpath & managed to slip ahead by 8 after 3 periods of play. Coach Burdick’s club made one last run & managed to cut the deficit in half, but couldn’t overcome their Steuben County League opponents as the Redskins hung on for the 39-35 triumph.
For Wayland-Cohocton (3-11)…7th grader Alex Button led the way with 9 points, 3 rebounds & 3 assists…Mackenzie Weber had 7 points, 7 boards, & a pair of steals and rebounds…Alex LaClair had 7 points, 3 boards, 2 assists & 2 steals…Taylor Welytok scored 6 with 8 rebounds, 3 assists, & 2 steals…Reilly Landino had 4 with a pair of assists & rebounds…Alyssa Recktenwald netted 2…while Kelsey Donovan had 2 rebounds & 2 assists. Coach Burdick noted, “although we lost, we showed some signs of improvement & you have to be pleased with the great effort the girls gave, especially playing without a couple of starters.”
For Canisteo-Greenwood (6-6)…Amber Edwards led the way with 12 points…Amber York finished with 9…Brandi THompson scored 8…Hali Ordway 6…Elaina Brownell & Sylvia Hopson each scored 2 points.

JV- Way-Coh remained unbeaten at (14-0) with a convincing 53-14 victory. (W-C…Shianne Chapman 12…Sarah Joseph 8…Kadeynn McInnis 8…Mikaela Nielsen 6…Jenni Rodriguez 4…Ashley Schumacher 2…Alexys Martindale 2…Carli Price 2…Sarah Pfuntner 1.